Your Councillors by Party

The Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council is made up of 76 members representing 33 wards.

Councillors are elected to office, often representing a political party. Upon election, councillors may form political groups which may be the same or different to their political party. The calculated allocation of seats on committees is based on the representation of these political groups.

The political composition of the council based on the political groups is:

Conservative 36 Councillors                                     
Liberal Democrats 15 Councillors                
Poole People and ALL 8 Councillors         
Christchurch Independents 7 Councillors        
The Bournemouth Group 4 Councillors     
Labour 3 Councillors    
Unaligned 3 Councillors    

No single political group has overall control of the Council, however, the Council is run by the Unity Alliance comprising Liberal Democrats, Christchurch Independents, Poole People, Labour, other Independents, Green and Alliance for Local Living councillors.

The Register of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests for BCP Council Members is available.

The Executive

A new Cabinet has been appointed comprising the Leader of the Council and nine portfolio holders.

Who is my Councillor?

To find your councillor please use the links below or use our interactive map (click on the map to view the ward councillors):


 Liberal Democrat


 Poole People - Independent and local


 Green Party

 Poole People - Working for Hamworthy

 Alliance for Local Living Independent Candidate

 UK Indepenedence Party